Those Magnificent Peaks

Today I had a longer love affair with those snow capped mountains.
We left the camp ground the same time as all the other wagons...it was a mad exodus ........10am was piss off time.
I talked P into the windy drive up to Mount St John so we could get a Birdseye view of those peaks. It is reckoned that it is the best place to view stars in NZ and it houses a HUGE telescope for spying on those twinkly things.........I wished that we hadn’t been so tired and had taken the drive up there last night...to perhaps get some more Astro shots under my belt.
No matter it was just fabulous to be up there surrounded by magnificence...on top of the world....where I had a panini and a coffee to break my fast....the view was absolutely ......well yeah ......Magnificent.

However .....in some ways not quite as magnificent as where I am sitting now...(in my opinion...as WWombat would say....Humble ;-)))))).......which is on the shores of Lake Pukaki just outside our mobile house.......a little table and camping chairs...no matter that it is a little windy as the view is breathtaking ......I am looking right up the lake to Mount Cook.....covered in snow and clouds....what a beauty.......he/she has stolen my heart today for sure.

We went to the info center and I asked a very nice lady there where we could camp....she pointed us to this spot...which we got to early to secure a prime spot...just a couple of meters away from the lake.
When we got here it was as still as glass...the reflections were just gorgeous........I watched the wind come in over the lake it seemed to gobble up the reflection by making the water all ripple...now there are little waves lashing at the shore.

It has been lovely to stop for the afternoon...the last few weeks have felt like a mad dash from one thing to another........to stop is heavenly....drink it all in .....look at all the pics I have taken in the last couple of days and just hang here drinking tea with P.
I look a little to my left and the sun is slowly sinking I am wondering if we will have any colour tonight...I really hope so......we are also prepared for some star shots if we get really lucky.
I am thinking about wearing my cloths to bed tonight so I can get up in the morning (if I go to bed) for a sunrise...now that would be the cats pyjamas....a tall order I know but I’m on holiday so I’m going for it.

EXTRAS
1. Lupins...but you knew that
2. Mt Cook across the Pukaki Lake
3. Through the van window...what a view
4. Sculpture of Tahr...(big goat...kinda) Pukaki Lake
5. Coffee @ Mount St John
6. Mt Cook...again
7. At the top of Mt St John

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.