In The Portal

After I posted last night I sat outside with my camera and just watched the clouds come in and change colour ever so slightly as the sun set. Still mesmerised by Mt Cook it wasn’t until someone told me to look the other way that I saw the most amazing light.......a searchlight of bright reddish light shooting up to the sky....it really was a most remarkable sunset...but then they all are I reckon....in degrees.

I fell asleep early but left the curtains and the window half open so I could wake to see if there were any stars...no luck the clouds were thick. I set the alarm for 5am and wrapped myself up in a duvet with my cloths still on and fell asleep again.
I woke up to the sound of rain on the roof and water coming in the window..just a bit.........to be honest I was happy there was no reason to get out of the my warm cocoon and turned over and got some more sleep. After the rain the sun shone and the view was just gorgeous when I poked my head out of the van.

Rainie pointed us in the direction of the Clay Cliffs.......which I have to say was another gobsmacking place to visit........it’s true Rainie......It reminded me of Arizona too. Our teeth nearly fell out with the corrugations in the road shaking us around but it was well worth the trip.
The Cliffs were awesome .......however I have to say here that the Lupins are just so beautiful especially on masse and the place was full of ‘em.
We followed the path and found ourselves in a place where we were surrounded by the cliffs...the feeling was quite profound and I felt that I was being watched by them. When I touched the clay it was moist and dry at the same time ....I took some detailed shots of it.

We had a bite to eat in Omarama and continued on to Oamaru.....where we visited Steam Punk HQ...both P and I were in 7th Heaven...for different reasons. It was just amazing.......did I say amazing.......the only thing that was a little disappointing is that I didn’t have Flynn with me...he would of wet his pants with excitement (don’t tell him I said that)........I took lots of pics so I can show him when I get home....I am thinking I might just have to bring him here one day.

Settled in our camping park...we can plug in our devices...recharge our camera batteries.....have long hot showers and all that stuff....but I have to say it doesn’t compare with our spot last night...I will never forget that.

Main Pic....Me in the Portal of Steam PUnk HQ ....its a bit what I feel like since arriving in NZ

Extras
1. Searchlight Sunset
2. The view from my bed this morning.
3. The Clay Cliffs AKA Rainies Arizona
4. ....and Lupins
5. More Cliffs
6 & 7 Steam Punk HQ

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.