Foliage Colors on Campus in the Rain

I had a meeting downtown in the afternoon, and so I decided I'd treat myself to two things just before that. One, a crock of the Corner Room's delicious French onion soup. And two, a little stroll through the area of campus around Old Main, to check out the foliage.

It was raining out and I had my umbrella. You might think that rain is a terrible time for foliage shots, but I urge you not to miss the opportunity. The rain makes all of the surfaces slick and shiny, it makes the tree trunks look darker, and you will find the colors do not mind the rain at all!

This was a view looking from campus toward downtown. Old Main was out of the frame immediately to my right. There were some people at the bottom of the shot. But the real story was the canopy of lovely leaves above it all, framing the sky with gold.

The song has to have something to do with trees, so here is one I have not used before: Pearl Jam, with a live version of In My Tree, recorded at Madison Square Garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.