The Fly and the Late Sunflower .......

This late, as in dead, sunflower was looking very photogenic as I passed it this morning. It resides in a very small square of community garden which has been dug at east end of the Meadows, apparently as a reaching tool to show City children how to grow rhubarb, chard and .........sunflowers.
I am sure there were a few other vegetables earlier which hopefully the children noticed but I didn’t. However, the area is so small that I don’t see much point. I was amazed that it has existed all year without being vandalised as the staked out boundary was only secured with twine fastened to sticks at each corner.

I have a vague remembrance of that area of the Meadows harbouring some allotments during WWII, but perhaps it’s a ‘fake memory’. It would certainly have made sense.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.