Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The Railway Bridge

The early morning mist soon gave way to a sunny day. I must get up early and get out to take some misty photos one morning - I did get up early this morning but it was to exercise... (scores Brownie points for that I think....)However by lunchtime the bright sunshine seemed to fade.

Poor Murdoch was a bit traumatised by his adventures yesterday afternoon - last night he did not even want to go outside for a wee, but he seems fine today - except for his left eye, he is blinking and it seems a little sore so I suspect he may have scratched it when running through all the undergrowth of those hedges yesterday. When he was a puppy he was always running off in the woods when I took him for a walk. His breed is known to be very confident, bold and adventurous, particularly the males, so I have had many heart-stopping moments of not being able to find him in the  past when he has run off after another dog or a squirrel in the woods. However, once he matured at two years old he settled down and now always stays near me when out walking.

I had to go to the Post Office Collection depot to get a registered letter, and this arched railway bridge is almost across the road from it. This 14 arch medieval bridge spans the River Mole. It was rebuilt and enlarged in 1784 by the county surveyor and is now a Grade II listed bridge. I have photographed it before but I think it makes a good subject.

Tonight Luke arrives for the weekend - he had planned and booked this trip long before he had to come 2 weekends ago for the interview, so it will be good to see him again. Tomorrow we see Adam, as we are taking  Thomas up as he is going to Cambridge to do a taster class in engineering for year 12 pupils. Lovely to see all the boys this weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.