The Queen's Hall , Dunoon

Earlier this week my colleague Keith Brown was in Rothesay announcing a Scottish Government and European Union grant which completes the funding package for the Pavilion there, a wonderful building much in need of renovation.

There was some twitter traffic about memories of SNP Conferences there , the last of which was in 1997 when I was party Chief Executive.   Many people miss these smaller venues which are of course now quite impossible to use given that the annual conference will attract 3000 (or more) delegates and observers.   In fact the only  locations that are feasible at the moment are the SECC in Glasgow and the Aberdeen Conference and Exhibition Centre.   Even the excellent previous larger locations like Perth and Inverness are no longer big enough. 

So when  I was in Dunoon today I thought I would get a picture of the renovations taking place at the Queen's Hall, which was another SNP Conference venue at one time, most recently in 1993.   

I also found an older picture of it on line which is my extra photo.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.