Fall Snow

Last night I looked out the window and noticed it was snowing. We got over an inch and when I woke this morning it was beautiful out. But cold. So I stayed in and worked on all kinds of things to get ready for my trip. At 2:30 Jean from the carpet cleaning company we've used for years came over to get keys to the lake house. When the painters are finished, the cleaners will begin to make the old carpet as clean as it can get.

When Jean left the roads were clear so I headed out to pick up some meds for Duma so Mindy, the house/cat sitter, would have them to give him while she is here. Since the pharmacy was close to the lake house I popped up there to see how the painters were doing. What they've finished looks fantastic. Made me wish I had had the painting done while I was still there... except, moving all the furniture and wall hangings would have been really hard to do. Anyhow, they are about half done and the walls and ceilings look great where they've finished. We talked for awhile and then I let them get on with their work.

I drove down to the parking area near Scudder Pond in Whatcom Falls Park. I wanted to take advantage of the evening's snow. I was not disappointed. The park was magical, with snow on the leaves and ground and the fall colors still obvious under the snow. Really gorgeous. I used my little purse camera, the Sony RX100 Model 1, to photograph the beauty around me. That model has software in it to modify the photos so they look like watercolor painting or illustrations. You can see some of the fiddling I did after I got home here. And I posted many more non-fiddled photos here on Chaikins of Bellingham.

It feels good to know I can visit my favorite park whenever I feel like it. I love walking there and today the walk filled me with the joy of being surrounded by the beauty of fall and winter together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.