The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

House Finch or Purple Finch?

After looking up the characteristics, I think this is a Purple Finch. He's rounder and stockier. He's more pink than red. He has a longer tail with a small V at the end. Yep. That's what I think he is. Nice to see him in my garden. We had more snow today but most of it has melted. I stayed in most of the day packing. Being a bit obsessive/compulsive, I always take time packing. I lay things out and then go back and forth choosing. "If I take this, that doesn't go with it and I like that." "That is a bit more formal than I want to be so out it goes." "That means this should go too." And then I'm back to the first set of choices. I packed a big suitcase, much more than I'd be taking for a longer trip. Really? Yes. Really. On a longer trip washing clothes is required. And you have to carry your suitcase more often. So I pack light and then wash clothes as needed. This trip I may be able to get by without washing. And I packed layers because it will be cold in NY and Paris, except the first day in NYC that is supposed to be in the 70s. I am taking a big checked bag and a backpack on the plane. It's been years since I've traveled with this much stuff. I plan to look a bit more elegant and well-dressed than usual. That feels fun to me.

Other than that I took a walk in the woods and a long nap in the afternoon. It was a stay-at-home kind of day for me. Tomorrow will be more of the same. I'm going to finish packing, do a bit of house cleaning, change the bed for the house sitter, and hang out with the kitties since I won't be seeing them for awhile. I think we leave for the airport around 5:30. Oh and I will also be changing all my clocks since tomorrow we return to standard time.

Then I'm off... flying to NYC to see my kiddo and his lady and then flying off again to Paris with my friend Helen and Elisa her daughter. Yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.