A Bigger 'Copter

After yesterday’s crash when I flew into a tree and damaged my drone, I thought maybe I needed something more substantial. As it happened, I noticed that the Navy is selling off some unwanted Sea Kings so I called to arrange a test. This one’s already been fitted with remote controls and is very similar to what I’ve been used to. It raised a few leaves as it took off but I think it should be alright.
 
Seriously, it’s a visit that was arranged for the village primary school of a Sea King helicopter from 849 Naval Squadron, Culdrose. I had intended to be there to see it land but I forgot. I was soon reminded when I heard it coming in from the west. These big choppers sound very different to the lighter ones we’re more used to hearing coming by. I grabbed a couple of shots from outside and then went down to the village green to see it. I decided to come back at midday to see it depart.
 
I’m sure the kids enjoyed getting a look but somehow I think that the old gaffers (I’m including myself in that) probably enjoyed it more. There are lots more here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.