Frosty Morning

Our second frosty morning of the Autumn and I actually managed to get out for a walk around 8am.  As the sun reached the valley bottom the frost was melting quickly so as I walked up hill (and stopped to catch my breath) I could see the frostline disappearing.  

We had an absolutely fantastic short walk in the afternoon along the Esk Valley Trail (just above the river and railway track).  The light was absolutely gorgeous and the day had warmed up making it all very pleasant (the path along this stretch is fairly level too).  I think this is one of the best walks I've tried around this part of the NY Moors - highly recommended if you don't want a walk that's too taxing and if you do want more there are plenty of routes around to extend your walk.

I couldn't decide on a blip today and as I've got quite a lot of extras still available I thought I'd go to town today.  So in extras I've put three more from this morning and two from this afternoon (taken on my phone as I discovered the new battery I'd put in the camera wasn't charged).

1.  St Hilda's, Danby with Castleton Rigg in the background (road between Hutton le Hole and Castleton).

2.  Our farm lane that takes us back to the road.  Here presently reside the young cattle that are clearly missing their mothers and are calling out day and night.

3.  Little Fry-up Dale - this is the parallel valley to ours, so by this time I'd done my hill climb and also negotiated the deep ruts, where the off road motorbikes have gouged out the ground, The sun had been on these fields for a while, so no frost. I liked the way the low height of the sun in the sky was emphasising the folds of the land.

4 & 5. Castleton to Danby walk.  I particularly like the white silver-birch against the blue sky.  Something about them reminded me of the white gum trees in Australia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.