Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Sleeping On The Job

My rather temperamental gas fire finally died completely in September. I miss it terribly as I love to relax on the sofa, facing the fire while I read or watch TV. It’s a favourite place in the house.

So I have been out doing some investigative shopping. Looking at different options, trying to decide whether to do a simple (and cheaper) replacement (still several hundred pounds) or whether to have a fancy new built-in energy-efficient fireplace including a lovely surround and hearth - but of course comes with a VERY high price tag! Which I could really do without right now!

So today I visited 2 fireplace shops. Here is Gunther, who gave me a very warm welcome. And then promptly curled up in front of the fire to have a snooze! Maybe that IS a good selling technique??

I had friends over for dinner this evening. I gave them a delicious low-carb dinner, and then blew it by serving up a stodgy but delicious Heston Blumenthal Persian Spiced Christmas pudding with custard. I only had a small helping and sent all the leftovers home with them! I had it left over from last Christmas and I needed to share it with others so I wouldn’t eat very much. Sorted!

We planned to watch a movie and chose Kidnap with Halle Berry. Verdict? Do.Not.Watch!! Disappointing but we still had a laugh. A very enjoyable evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.