Como

We drove down to Como today. It took about 45 minutes. Fairly good road but quite narrow at times, especially going though the villages scattered along the coast between Menaggio and Como.

In the past I have worked in Como for a few weeks or so each year for about five or six years. I should know my way around fairly well. However my memory of the layout of the town was pretty vague. We had lunch at a bar in front of the Cathedral which can be seen to the right of the picture.

Construction of the cathedral started in 1396 but was not finished until 1740. The city is famous for being the centre of the silk industry, and when I worked here I used to go to the factory outlets to buy my annual supply of new ties. On this occasion we walked around in the search for silk scarves. This search was not overly successful, though we did manage a purchase.

On our return to Menaggio we walked down to the centre, without getting lost this time, for a glass or two of wine before dinner in the hotel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.