View of Lake Como on a cloudy day

The trouble with catching up with blips a week after the event is that the memory fades. Can it be only a week ago today we were in Menaggio. The fault for my memory lapse may be with the weather.

The weather was not great today. We decided to take a boat trip. I would have liked to go all the way to Como and back, however we had left it a bit late, so we could only go as far as Argegno, which is about half way to Como from Menaggio.

We had about an hour at Argegno before the return ferry. We decided to go to a bar where I ordered a half litre of wine. The wine was not great, but they gave us some pizza bread with it which was great, especially as we were both quite hungry.

When we got the return ferry it turned out to have a bar on board, the only time we encountered this on Lake Como. As the weather was not great we stayed inside and it seemed churlish not to have some more wine. Yet more wine may have been consumed on our return to Menaggio before we got a taxi back up to our hotel.

Hence it was all the fault of the weather that so much wine was consumed, and why my initial recollection of the day was a bit hazy, though it all comes back to me now. Super dinner in the hotel. Smoked Salmon followed by sword fish and spinach. And more wine of course. Expect I slept well that night.

I may have Photoshopped the colour of the sky a bit here. No excuse I just like the slightly surreal effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.