The Slope

Another fine day, so some serious gardening. Yeah, serious, as I was listening to Melvyn’s podcast about the Congress of Vienna. And the place is looking pretty OK; some of the ground cover plants are beginning to thrive rather than be drowned out by the ruderals. Yep, you read that here first.
Out to buy a drill bit. No drill bit. The drill bit is now ordered online. A bit of wall scraping and painting did follow. A temporary thing. 
Then out to the Cameo to see the Killing of a Sacred Deer. Having detested Dogtooth, and dozed during Lobster, I really maybe shouldn’t have. Life's too short for ’this sort of thing' - preposterous characters (nothing clever or inventive about them, just pedestrian) and a deliberately obtuse storyline. What does this tell us of anything of our lives apart from the director's ability to get some funding? Zactly. 
I’d watched a film the day before too - The Meyerowitz Stories, but on Netflix - jings a proper movie with big names going straight to TV. I do have quite a soft spot for Baumbach’s stuff, and this was no exception - y'know, conceit, self-worth, self-loathing, and a father figure that you’ll never live up to. That’s me. And my Dad. And his too, I seem to recall, though I never met the chap. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.