Wait.....Where are We?

I was following this Sea Turtle at a pretty good clip when I surfaced to see where he had taken me.......opps, I couldn't even see the lava rocks where we had started. I swam back along the shoreline realizing I must be  north of where we started......the current was pretty strong.....but I saw many more fish along the way, including a moray eel, so being off to a spot I didn't intend to visit was worth it. The water was clearer than I have seen it in the last three years we have visited Maui; it makes it easier to get a decent photo. I think my underwater camera is about 6 years old and it wasn't very expensive when I bought it......but it seems to work if I can get close enough to what I want to photograph. I didn't crop this photo; the turtle was pretty close to me..  When we first met up I was backing up trying to get far enough away so I could capture his whole body.....when he decided to take off for who knows where, I raced along side him so I could continue to get his head in my photos.
I absolutely love snorkeling.....LOVE it so much that my hubby has to beg me to get our when he is ready to leave. I love the feel of floating as the gentle waves move me up and down; I love seeing all the fish and discovering some I haven't seen before. I am so grateful I am healthy and strong enough to continue snorkeling! Like my grandchildren say, "Grandma, you are in your happy place when you snorkel." Yes, I am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.