Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Wild Wednesday: Painting

Today saw a very important item ticked off the list, especially for G. She's seeing her oncologist next week, so the customary blood tests had to be done. I too need to follow up with my consultant about the iron infusions I had earlier in the year, so had a few tests to do myself.

Through the help of contacts and friends, we discovered that the polyclinic in the building right next to us has a laboratory and is much cheaper than the other quotes we got, so job done without having to travel anywhere, and we discovered how clean our own building is despite not having a dedicated watchman. :)

Drove G for her one and only lesson and then headed to Cafe Ceramique after she finished! I think the last time we were there was in 2015 when SweetArt was visiting with two other friends. Today, we invited Pam, our Pastor's wife. She'd never painted a ceramic and was game. She chose a snowman (see extra) and G & I chose a flower that we initially thought was a sunflower, but on closer inspection, found out was a poppy.

Two hours went very quickly. You need to put three coats for full impact, so it takes a little time. I *might* just blip the finished piece when I collect it next week.

And that was the 8th of November 2017... which would have been G's mum's 96th birthday. We marked it with a glass of port at the end of the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.