Mountain Tops and Green Velvet Forests

We had a wonderful blipmeet at a cafe called Florence......Piano Lady and Husband ‘The Tuner’.......A Cycling Granny...Wild Moose Chase...Travelling Kiwi and Mumma Hen with a few other members of DIG.....of course always lots to catch up on and find out about each other. All too soon it was time to disperse and go our seperate ways.

Sleepy and I jumped into the van and headed for Haast.....I actually had no idea of the wonderful sights we had in store. The ubiquitous snow capped mountains and the clouds....oh those absolutely wonderful clouds....I wanted to take pictures of each and every one of them.
We followed the Wanaka lake for a very long time right up to its Northern tip....the views as per usual were breathtaking...I wanted to stop every 5 meters but of course we couldn’t.
We stopped at the blue pools which when we got there were not very blue after all the rain........I left P down by the waters edge and I headed back up into the forest......covered in green velvet...I was in fairly land with the rain gently falling the sun making it sparkle on my favourite colour...everywhere I looked there was a beautiful little vignette of magical stuff....I am sure Tolkien must of come here as the trees looked as if they were conversing with each other...just like Ents.

Our next stop (big stop as there were several little ones on the way) was at Fantail Falls...it wasn’t far to walk so I lugged my tripod down onto the rocks at proceeded to try a couple of long exposures.......it was very loud and full and buxom...one could spend a large amount of time under her auspices but unfortunately we had to move on.......and it had started to rain and I’m trying not to get too wet....my cough is slowly subsiding.

We drove through the Haast pass OMGoodness how amazing was that (I am running out of superlatives)...it was green and gold moss on the rock face....there were waterfalls just running down the hills everywhere...little bridges and winding roads clouds rushing in and swirling around obscuring peaks.......what to say it was a mighty fine experience that’s for sure.

We were going to freedom camp tonight but my camera batteries have depleted and we needed to charge them all up for tomorrow....who knows what is around the corner waiting to be blipped...or up in the air........we have a big adventure that will take a lot of snapping tomorrow.

The wifi is very unstable..not sure if my extras will post tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.