Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Giveaways

It’s becoming a new routine to go for a short walk on the way home from church on a Sunday morning - as long as the weather is as good as it has been! I might not do it in the pouring rain! Today was a beautiful sunny day, however and I discovered some new paths just a bit beyond where I used to sometimes walk Dolly.

Just before I got back to the car I saw these lovely Dahlias and ended up talking to the man whose house it was. He was a lecturer at the nearby agricultural college and said they were the last of the Dahlias from his allotment and wouldn’t last the night with the upcoming frost. I also picked up a bag of apples from his garden. Neither were quite ‘giveaways’ but I didn’t mind dropping the few coins in the jar. They do look lovely now that I’m home and have put them in a vase.

A little further on was another windfall - this time cooking apples - they really WERE free for the taking! I took 4 with me. Not quite sure what I’m going to do with them!

I see this kind of thing quite often in the countryside in England and it’s another thing to love in this country!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.