Music centre

Not the best photo I took today. But a good memory of the concert we went to, which was dominated by the premiere of a piano concerto by a Finnish-Canadian composer I must confess I've never heard of before: Matthew Whittall. This concerto is inspired by the sea - both real and mythical - according to the programme notes, and you could certainly hear that in it. You could also hear notes of Rautavaara in there as well, which is unsurprising, I guess. We enjoyed it immensely. We enjoyed the second half less, because three unpleasant drunk bums came in and sat next to Mr A. People less like classical music fans it is hard to imagine. I'm really not sure what they were doing there. Unbelievably they were taking pictures of each other during the performance. Grrrh.


The Music Centre, the venue for the concert, is stunning. It's taken us two months to get there for the first time, but I'm sure we will soon be back. It's literally just 10 minutes walk up the road (I walk past it all the time on the way to work) so there's no excuse for not taking advantage of its eclectic programme of performances.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.