Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Huayan Picchu or bust

Today was a big day.  We were met by our guide, Juan, at 6 am and walked from our hotel to the bus stop.  He said the queue was not too bad, sometimes you had to wait two hours for a bus, and then it was half an hour of hair pin bends to Machu Picchu. 

What a marvellous place it is.  This view never fails to take my breath away and I remember 20 years ago walking down from the Sun gate and seeing just this.  I learned some new things this time.  Juan Angel our guide two days ago says that he always sees something new every time he goes.

John was going to do the Huayana Picchu climb with me but unfortunately was not feeling well and so at 10.10 I signed the book and went through the entrance gates.  I have to say it was tough and I was definitely out classed by the 20 year olds but I did the return trip in 1 hour and 45 minutes including hanging around the top time, exploring some of the Incan remains at the top and of course photo time.  I have put a panorama up on the extra from the top.

After that it was a climb back down to the entry point, a short wait (10 minutes) for the bus, a hairpin drive back down to Aguas Calientes and meeting up with the gang for lunch.

We are now back in Cusco after catching the Peru Vistadome back.  The staff put on a fashion show and entertainment on the train which was quite amusing.  At least it kept the chap across the aisle quiet who otherwise talked non stop for the 3.5 hour trip, he could talk a glass eye to sleep and certainly could talk under water.

Peru is playing New Zealand in the round ball game and all is quiet here at 11.27 pm.  We are expecting an uproar around midnight and have a 5.20 am start tomorrow for the long trip home.   Not sure when I will post again.  I might have some time in airports as we have a relatively long wait in Santiago. So until then my friends, hasta luego.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.