Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Back in the W/shop.......Bedside lamp Project.

....... Have been preparing the wood (Ash and Purpleheart) for the stems of the bedside lamps I am making. When I have done the work described below I will then cut the whole stem in half, creating two stems.
     You will see in the main shot the channel up the middle where the electric cable will be. I now have to plane all of these pieces so that they lie flat on each other and stick together well after being glued.
     Whilst I am glueing it all together I will place a piece of flex up the channel suitably waxed, so that when the glue has set I can pull the flex out leaving the channel clear for me to put the electric cable in for the lamps.
I will then put each stem in the lathe and turn it.

First extra is what it will roughly look like before I turn it on the lathe to make a nice looking stem.
The second extra shows the channel up the middle when all the pieces are together.
I hope you can follow what I will be doing. I will keep you updated as I progress through the project.

I hope you are all enjoying your weekend.
Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.