a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Goosed

We've been to Birmingham to visit our youngest Jess, who is now working and living there.  She was in good form and we've had a delightful day wandering about and not doing that much other than spend time together. 

We did walk along some of the canals near Brindley Place at one stage, where I took this shot of the Canda goose.  I went to University in Birmingham (nearly 40 years ago now), and it still amazes me how much the place has changed in the intervening period.  I am sure that Bristol has changed similarly, its just that I tend not to notice as much as I see it every day.  It is fair to say that this particular area has changed significantly for the better, it was very run down in the late 1970's.  

Its not far from where this shot was taken that I bought my first electric guitar and guitar amp.  I still remember lugging the guitar amp home on the bus - it was big and heavy and I was tired when I finally got back to my student flat.  Why on earth I didn't get something smaller I don't know - I do know that I hardly ever turned it up to a decent volume and that even when barely on it was far too loud if anyone else was in the building.  How my flat mates must have loved me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.