a lifetime burning

By Sheol

John Sebastian

I've seen others do this type of "in the round" shot, inspired by the Catalan photographer Pep Ventosa. I've admired and been fascinated by the results and have been meaning to have a go myself for weeks now.  This lunchtime I set off in search of a suitably strong subject for the shot and settled on Light Vessel 55 (John Sebastian) which is moored in Bathurst Basin in the floating harbour at Bristol.  


So this is my first attempt - I shall need to live with it a while to decide what I think about it.


The ship was built by Charles Hill & Sons of Bristol in 1885. Wikipedia tells me that it saw service until springing a leak in 1953 at which stage it was towed to Barry Docks for repair. I'm not sure what happened to it in Barry but it was sold as a burnt-out wreck just a year later to the Cabot Cruising Club who use it as their headquarters to this day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.