In the Workshop

I was apprentice to my pal Dave in the Turb workshop today as we kicked off winter restoration work supervised by Team Manager Mike. We removed all the hinges from the wings, ailerons and elevator and peeled off the last of the fabric from the wood frame.

We neatly bagged up the hinges, screws and washers then labelled them. It will make the rebuild so much easier. Next on our repair list will be sanding off the remainder of the dope. We earned ourselves a lovely pot of tea and cake in the nearby tea rooms.

Earlier today my village came to a standstill for remembrance. The town crier rang his bell asking for silence. Residents stood on their doorsteps or in the street. I leaned out my window, thoughts with those who fought for our freedom and lost their lives.

Across the street I watched a young couple with babe in arms standing silently, holding onto each other. The only sound was the baby gurgling. The crier then rang his bell and recited "At the going down of the sun..." words that never fail to move me.

Lest We Forget.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.