Asleep on the job

I'm not sure what the fur child's job is but it's a good one ;-)

He has a regular games sessions with felt mouse tied to a piece of string. His insistence with me reminds me of a dog with a stick. I guess it's the Burmese factor.

Only right that my favourite animal should be blipped on the feast day of St Francis of Assisi. St Francis famous of course for his love of animals and nature, forsaking his rich merchant heritage, identifying with the poor and outcast during the late 11th and early 12th centurys, amongst other good things.

Like each of us though, St Francis was neither all good or all bad. He also managed to keep onside with the rich, powerful and often ruthless church and thus avoided the favourite pastime of burning people at the stake. Initially at least he supported the churches appalling alignment with military power that led to the Crusades. Sadly the repercussions continue to reverberate throughout the world today.

St Francis aside I biked to and from St Lukes, weaving my way through the edge of the CBD cordon. It looks and feels like a war zone without the worry of snipers.

Then a lovely afternoon with the hunter. He arrived with this ear to ear beam bearing gifts of white bait. I've put it in the freezer to share with Mum and Dad. There is plenty and no one will go hungry.

He truly is a gem :-)

The mark of a good afternoon is how relaxed I feel - and consequently sleepy. I take that as a good and restorative thing. Good preparation for another week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.