Remembrance

This morning I went to the Remembrance Parade in Oswestry followed by the service in the parish church.It's always very well attended due to Park Hall Camp which trained soldiers from WW1 (including my grandad) until the days of National Service.

It was bitterly cold with hail and rain for much of it. We sang "Oh God our help in ages past" and the phrase "shelter from the stormy blast" seemed particularly relevant!

It's good to have a day where we remember the sacrifice made by so many during the various wars. Our family have always particularly remembered my uncle killed in 1944 when his Lancaster crashed. Today I spotted this internet article written by my mother about her brother Sergeant George Challinor, taken from one of the books that she wrote. Shropshire Libraries added it to the BBC's "People's War".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.