Audrey

I had a walk down to the village this afternoon to pick up a form I needed from the Physio. I’d spent a lot of time before that typing up something that needed a great deal of mental energy and it seemed to take forever so I was glad to finally get out of the house and enjoy the sunshine and fresh air. It was relatively warm for November! I was tired though, and didn’t feel like going on one of my normal walks. I NEED to walk and keep my knee moving so I decided to just wander around the churchyard before heading home.

I found this very lovely gravestone. It says ‘In Sacred Memory Of - Our Little Darling - Audrey Squires’. I wonder who Audrey was and how old she was when she died? So many children died in previous times, something that is thankfully a rare thing today.

When I got home it was actually warm enough - just - to sit in the garden and enjoy the setting sun. It would have been a great sunset down at the lake, but today I saw it over the rooftops! (See extra photo) I extended my time in the garden by building a fire in my chiminea just before it was dark. I’ve been clearing out papers and files and I prefer burning to shredding so every now and then I enjoy an hour or so in front of a roaring fire. Maybe I should consider cooking something in it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.