Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Cough medicine

I can't help feeling this dentally challenged flying hagling would make a great piece of graphics for a bottle of cough medicine.  Why do I think this?  Well, apart from the fact she is remarkably like some advertisers' representations of 'flu demons, I rather have coughing on my mind today.

However, there's no need to feel sorry for me, I never get colds or coughs, probably haven't had either for 6 years, maybe longer.  Until last night, that is.  So given that a trip into town was required for meds, and that it was raining, I slipped into the Cathedral for another 'face'.

This one is found in the Lady Chapel, the 2 side walls of which are covered in medieval wall-paintings.  In 1930 the Cathedral was presented with hinged wooden panels, painted in replica to cover the originals and help protect them from light - and other - damage.  When I first came to Winchester you could swing these panels back to look at the originals.  That's sensibly not allowed anymore - the originals are very fragile.  So this blip is the faithful replica.

Hope you have a better evening than I'm looking at.  Oh for a wee dram ;)

xx

PS: Comments off again, I'm afraid, hopefully just for tonight or until my temperature comes down

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.