"If You Go Down In The Woods Today ....

.... you're sure of a big surprise."

I heard that hawfinches had been seen in Wormley West End Woods yesterday so decided to go hunting. I went into The Woodman and Olive pub to ask if I could leave my car there. I was welcomed by a lovely Bulgarian woman who was interested in my quest and found some plans of the area for me. I met a couple opposite the pub who said that they were lost but they'd seen the hawfinches. They decided to retrace their steps and I followed them. They told me of the field where they had seen the birds and we parted company.

It was lovely walking in the woods alone but I didn't spot the birds. I ended up alongside the perimeter fence of Paradise Wildlife Park and shot this tiger in a dilapidated area that is no longer open to the public.

The Woodman and Olive has a Greek theme so when I got back to the car I had delicious tzatziki for lunch there. I stopped at Wormley churchyard on the way home in case the hawfinches were after the yew berries. No luck.

Today's poem is Judith by Vicki Feaver. http://www.sheerpoetry.co.uk/general-reader/poets-on-poets/judith

Gosh! VF says it all in that link. I get doing stuff to make oneself feel alive.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.