Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Goodbye, Art

I had only known Art for a few months but from the first day we met we became fast friends.  Receiving the news of his death over the weekend at the Singles Club yesterday rocked me. I hope no one minds, but this photo was taken in mid-October at the Amphitheater in Madera Canyon. Art always made me smile because he  was always smiling, always excited to see you. 

I love the story of how we ended up in Madera Canyon on this day. Every activity scheduled for members of the Singles Club must have a coordinator. When I saw the sign-up sheet for a walk and picnic in Madera I noticed he was the coordinator.  I needed to ask if we'd be taking a "walk" on an easy trail or a "hike" on one more difficult.  His response: "I have no idea. I've never been to Madera Canyon. It just sounded like something fun to do!"  I tried really hard not to laugh and ask him why the hell he planned a trip like that having never been there, but he was such a sweetie I couldn't tease him about it. I offered to go up in advance, scope out a trail or two and find a picnic area not far from a bathroom  fancy outhouse. He was grateful and thrilled  by my offer.

When the group arrived at the trailhead he had chosen, they decided to take a more challenging hike.  Much to our consternation, the two of us followed them to a different trail.  We lagged way behind and less than 20 yards in he was ready to turn back.  We hung around in the beautiful forest for a while then went to the wildlife area. He gave me a hug for all of my help before we headed down the mountain.  I think he had a wonderful time.  I am happy to have shared that experience with him.
Have a great time in heaven, Art. Keep 'em all on their toes.  x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.