Donna Nook Seals

Last night was a good evening as my eldest son Zeph came home for a visit. It was good to sit and relax with the two lads. They were on their tech and I was doing a hobby too, but we chatted and laughed a lot too.

This morning Brian and I went over to Donna Nook to look at the seals, as this is the time of year when they visit this particular beach (Also a nature reserve, and used as a practice range by the RAF too! Not while the seals are there of course!)

This is where the seal cows go to give birth. Once the pups arrive, the Mums feed them for around 18 days, then they are weaned. Towards the end of the weaning the mums (cows) mate with the bull seals to become pregnant again! 

I'm glad I'm not a seal!!

Some people had their dogs with them, but one couple had their pet bird along - apparently he pines and becomes distressed if they don't take him everywhere with them! He's in the extras, along with another shot of a cow and pup.

Afterwards we drove down the road a few miles to Mablethorpe to have some fish and chips for lunch, as we were very hungry by this time!

Once we were home we just wanted to collapse on the sofa but I had to go to the bank, and after that we had the weekly shop to do. 

But soon it will be time to chill out at last - after I've eaten my tea and washed up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.