Bubbles

Last week my friend Tobi introduced me to her friend from Seattle. In turn I introduced her to Blipfoto. She has joined our ranks. Please drop by and welcome  Lisa to the fold. 

In the course of our wide ranging conversation  which I'm pretty sure I monopolized since I was drinking my first cup of coffee of the day and could not stop talking....I was bemoaning the fact that although I love the concept of painting, and am pretty good at making things, I lack creativity. She sent me a You Tube video with an exercise on "how to break a page". The woman said anybody could do this exercise. I may have proven her wrong, but I had fun playing around with my paints again (to the exclusion of all else). Nothing for it but to take a picture of my attempt. I'm determined to try again...It can't be that hard....

The hardware for our door arrived yesterday and David came over and installed it. It looks much better than the dog leash tied through the holes. It's a lot easier to open too. Of course putting the door in involved taking all the trim off, so he came over today and put on nice new trim which I liked so much better than the old stuff that I had him replace the trim around the other two doors in the living room. Such is the slippery slope of renovation....

David brought over his son, Andrew, who is a chef at Willi's Seafood, sister restaurant to Willi's Wine Bar, a place which was very special to OilMan and me, and which burned down last month. I was pleased to learn that every one of the 54 Willi's Wine Bar employees has a job at one of the four or five other sister restaurants in the area. All of these restaurants are owned by a Santa Rosa couple who have created not a chain, but a string of excellent restaurants each with its own personality, atmosphere and menu. All the dishes on Willi's  unique small plates menu have also been divvied up among the other restaurants.. The proceeds from those dishes will be donated to the fire restoration fund.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.