Santas and Sailors

A bright and beautiful morning today and before we set off for the town I had a good scan of the sky and decided that rain was unlikely and that a fleece was enough. We walked down to the seafront where a nippy wind was blowing and I wished that I'd worn my waterproof! 

There was a Christmas Fair on at the Corran Halls in aid of Argyll Animal Aid, another Christmas Market at the Distillery and a small Victorian Market in the Perle Hotel. We visited them all, but I wasn't really impressed - mostly girly merchandise, lots of knick-knacks and fancy stuff, though I did buy a s/h book! 

We went into the 'Food from Argyll' cafe at the Ferry Terminal to escape the rain which was obviously falling on Mull and emerged just as it reached Oban! It mostly side-tracked us however and we got home in the dry.

The Oban lifeboat, 'Mora Edith MacDonald', is still moored at the new pontoon while her base at Port Beag is being renovated, and today she had been joined by her Tobermory colleague, 'Elizabeth Fairlie Ramsey'. They've been doing exercises together, according to a passing coastguard man.

There's a reindeer parade on this evening but at the moment I don't really fancy going out again. Maybe the weather will change and it will be a question of 'Don't go out in the rain, dear'! Urggh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.