Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

Dragonfly

This is not the best photo I have taken today but as it is the best shot of a dragonfly I have taken so far, it has to be my blip.

An absolutely gorgeous day today.  I went for a walk on one of the Motueka Inlet paths and was surprised to see several dragonflies in action.  I have never noticed them there before.No matter where they are, they are never close enough and don't sit still posing either.

Dragonflies can fly at speeds up to 58 km per hour, fly backwards, rise vertically like a helicopter, or screech to a sudden halt as though they have hit a brick wall. No wonder I cant capture one in a good photograph. They are hunters capable of catching cicadas, flies and bees, but, themselves are often eaten by wild cats, rats, kingfishers and even wasps.

 The Maori name for dragonflies is Kakapowai, and means 'water-snatcher'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.