Life In Wales

By KarenC

A Sunny Sunday in Seaford

It's been glorious today, so after breakfast Alan took the boys out for a walk while I prepared lamb shanks in red wine and left them simmering in the slow cooker, and then we drove to Seaford with the wheelchair in the car.

We parked near the sailing club and Alan pushed me the full length of the beach to splash point.  We had lots of giggles along the way, as due to the weather, the pebbles from the beach were practically covering the path in some points and I ended up getting 'beached'.  Luckily, I could get up and walk, much to the amusement of some onlookers lol!

I've blipped Splash Point before, and this is where there has been a recent cliff collapse, yet despite the numerous warnings, if you look closely, you'll see two people at the edge taking photos!  I guess they're tourists who just haven't got a clue about the dangers.

I walked to the cafe and we sat on the beach and had a hot chocolate and shared a chocolate shortcake slice in the sunshine - it was hard to imagine it's almost the end of November!

We passed some new beach huts that we’ve not seen before, they're really nice with a private raised decking, and made out of a composite plastic.  One was for sale, so I googled it - Alan guessed that it would be about £20,000 and I said £25,000 but we were both wrong, they're £42,000!  They're very nice, but ultimately they're a plastic shed!

When we got home the smells from the kitchen were amazing, the lamb was falling off the bone and the sauce was very tasty - I think it's one of the best Sunday dinners we've had in a long time, even if I do say so myself.  The recipe was from the BBC Good Food and I'll definitely be cooking it again.

In other news, I've been speaking to my boss about the possibility of going back to work next week.  My biggest problem is getting there, as I can't drive for at least another week, so I was thinking about getting the bus.  However, Shaughan and Steve aren't happy about me getting there on public transport and today they've  transferred £100 into my bank account to help with the cost of taxis!  They've also said I must do reduced hours to start with, and I can do the hours to suit me - what a difference to the solicitors that I used to work for!  So I'm going back on Tuesday, and am going to speak to them tomorrow to discuss the hours

Anyway, it's almost time for 'I'm a Celebrity' so I'll say bye for now..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.