Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Sunday 19th Nov 2017 17:32

Sunrise – 07:10   Sunset – 17:11   Moon – Day 1
Extras
07:35   13:29   14:37
15:35   16:31   16:52

After I took the photo at 7:35am it began to rain and continued to do exactly that until a little after 1pm. I do not take my little camera out in the rain. I made a cup of tea for him and a pot of coffee for me and when I had finished the coffee-and-blip ritual I went back to bed for nothing better to do on a day as miserable as this. At about 11 o'clock I remembered that the chickens were shut in so I donned raincoat and yellow wellies over my nightie and went down the hill to let the birds out, not that they would be all that interested in getting wet. The sheep heard me pass their shed and so fell into step on either side of me like the faithful little bridesmaids they choose to be, and got wet and heavy in the process.

It reminded me that about a year ago we began discussing the prospect of keeping geese; they would provide wonderful 'defenders of the realm' services after Homer's departure (Homer was by then known as 'Pappou', which means 'Grandpa', by most Greeks who visit us); geese would lay larger eggs than the hens; they would not cause the dreadful soil erosion that the sheep do; they are our preferred seasonal feast and they wouldn't mind getting wet!
Geese is the word!
The downside of course would be that their eggs tend to be seasonal and they pair for life. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.