Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Top Lock, Walsall Canal

Out early for a fast walk, the weather defied expectations and by the time I reached the Birchills Junction a watery sun was just beginning to peep through the clouds.

It certainly helped to lift the colours along the canal, which had been pretty flat up until that point.  I ended up chatting to a couple of Canals and River Trust workers who were having to re fill one of the pounds on this flight of locks.  It seems things are currently a problem as the dam wall on Chasewater has sprung a small leak (don't panic) and is restricting the ability of it to feed the canals in this area.

Technical:  Another Pep Ventosa inspired image, I was unsure which element of the image to use as a focal point, but in the end chose the far lock gate.  It was interesting how the image varied if I chose another point.  I used a road bridge to shoot from and probably traversed about 15 metres from first to last image.  As this is a linear meld of images, I swapped the order of the images in the stack, putting a central composition at the bottom and then working out from that point with successive layers.  I find it help keeps more detail in the final composition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.