Big Daddy Deer

A very poor quality image shot in rubbish light through the window but it's all I've got today. It was lovely to see this male muntjac feasting on windfall crab apples in the garden. The crab apple tree is in a hedge, which I know is ancient because of the variety of indigenous trees and shrubs it contains.

I was told on the Epping Forest deer walk that muntjacs fight, not with their horns but with their very sharp teeth. These can be seen in my pic. I was also told that males often have damaged ears as a result. Big Daddy certainly has.

It was interesting to see my local Fishers Green and the Old River Lea on Countryfile last night. The local barbel fishermen are a fount of information about wildlife. Interesting too to see muntjac cooked by the foragers, no wonder they are tasty.

Today's poem is True Love by Sharon Olds. (I got in a bit of a muddle and this is actually the poem for 19th November in my book.) https://www.poemhunter.com/best-poems/sharon-olds/true-love-298/

I get, "bound with the tie of the delivery-room".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.