Trashed!

That's how I  feel after a trip down to London.   I had to visit an establishment in the East End, interestingly a few hundred yards from the flat I lived in as a student.

The traffic has changed somewhat since I was there in the 60's/70's.   I stayed with my brother in Chesham last night and the journey that the Sat Nav told me was 1 hour actually took 2.5 hours.   Luckily I had left plenty of time and I arrived at my destination (rather stressed) with 1 minute to spare.

The reason for my trip was to sit an exam to become a Guild Commended Framer.  I had to take three carefully constructed "apprentice pieces" with me which were each unceremonially ripped apart by the examiner (see picture) to find fault with my methods (I did know this would happen)

I then had to do a practical test in front of him followed by a multiple choice exam.  It certainly wasn't a walk-over.  Luckily I passed.  I've been keeping this secret in case I failed :-).  I always think it's good to challenge yourself (like the LRPS).  

What was particularly scary was that the person who taught me to frame is an established framer and trainer and she had failed the GCF exam when she took it a few years ago.   She had booked to re-sit it (probably when I told her I was going to do it) and she turned up for her resit today immediately after me.   She looked very nervous as she has more to lose than me.   I haven't heard how she did but will be very surprised if she doesn't walk it as she is very knowledgable.

PS the rather odd image isn't one of mine.  It's a compulsory set piece that we were told to frame in a particular way.

PS - just heard that my tutor also passed - Phew!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.