View from the Car Window

After dropping off the Little Misses this morning  I took Archie on a walk across the fields. Everywhere looked gorgeous and frosty but naturally I left my phone in the car so didn't get any pictures!
After dropping him back at home I set off to Deddington for a Sing and Sign taster session at the playgroup. 
I grew up in Bicester and went to secondary school in Banbury so it was an hour's bus journey every day. 
So much fun on the "Bicester Bus" but that's a whole other story!!
We passed a field every day with an oak tree in the middle of it and I loved watching it change through the seasons. Even then I thought it would be amazing to get photos of it at different times of the year and document the changes.
I drove past the field today - on a different road - and decided today was the day. I'd stop and take a photo!
Unfortunately from the lay-by I stopped in I could hardly see the tree (it's the orange blob in the middle) so I didn't bother getting out of the car just took this through the window. 
It's a pretty view but I still don't have a photo of my tree!!
Today I had my first proper dilemma about needing to be in two different places at once for the Little Misses. Miss L had hockey match in Milton Keynes which was due to end at 4pm, and Miss E had a climbing competition in Milton Keynes from 5pm. Annoyingly about five minutes away from the hockey venue. 
There was no way to collect Miss E from school for climbing without missing the hockey 
No matter how hard I tried to think of a solution I couldn't make it work without just telling Miss L I couldn't go and watch her.  And as I went to watch Miss E yesterday in a match at her school I didn't want to do that!!
In the end I collected Miss E early from school at 2.30pm and she came to the match with me. And sat in the car reading her book and drinking hot chocolate rather than supporting her sister!!
It was freezing so if I'm honest I'd rather have been sitting in the car!!
But I got chatting to a mum I've never spoken to before and she was lovely. After the match tea we had an hour to kill before getting Mr K from the bus to come to the climbing with us. They spent it very happily browsing in Hobbycraft and Next. Lots of ideas for Christmas lists!!
Then, finally, it was to climbing. Miss E did very well on the first route. Top marks. Then she made a mess of the second one and fell off early. She was less philosophical than last year and went a bit mental wailing about how she couldn't get 400 (or 500 or some other random number!!) and then carried on shouting random numbers at me until I got cross and said we may as well just leave then.
Sigh!!!
She did OK on the third route and then did really well bouldering. Most importantly actually trying despite it being ridiculously difficult.
It's such a shame she can't just try her best and be happy with her efforts. 
And it's a shame I can't be more understanding and patient.
She did enjoy it in the end and said sorry for over reacting before. Maybe there's hope!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.