Today's Special

By Connections

Sixty-Three Years Ago...

I drew this. At age 7-1/2, I was already horse-crazy, so of course the picture has a horse in it. 

It also has a turkey, making this a suitable subject for a Thanksgiving blip, and a pumpkin, and a brightly decorated tent/tipi, with what might be construed as Native American blankets on a nearby clothesline. Above that is what looks like a little girl -- perhaps a Native American child? -- with toys that echo their full-size counterparts.

I suspect I made this drawing in November 1954, while my mother cooked Thanksgiving dinner. My sister E, not quite two years younger than me, was probably doing something more active. My sister M would  be born in less than four months, just after my eighth birthday. 

My father's role in the Thanksgiving dinner was carving the turkey; I don't remember him helping with the preparation or the clean-up afterward. We were living in Milltown, New Jersey, at the time, one of several places in NJ that our family lived after leaving Georgia, where I spent my first four years. We moved to a suburb of Cleveland, Ohio just before I became a teenager.

That near-sighted, introverted, quiet little girl would have been utterly amazed if she'd been able to glimpse what her life would be like at age 70.

Happy Thanksgiving to all my USA friends!

Blip 1891

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.