Today's Special

By Connections

Twosome

I can't think when I last saw cormorants at Lake Padden Park -- it's been more than a year or two, I'm sure, and the last time I blipped them was January 6, 2015!

The one on the right in today's photo appeared just as I was heading back to my car, so I stayed around to see what it would do. It perched on that post for several minutes, gazing slowly but intently in all directions, as if it were looking for something... or someone.

Suddenly another cormorant flew in from "stage right" and landed on the adjacent post. Cormorant #1 promptly stretched out its wings, and held that "pose" for ages, while #2 ever so slowly stretched its wings out. They then spent several minutes drying their wings, with the slightly smaller #2 bird drawing its wings in sooner than the first. 

In the ongoing drama we find ourselves in here in the United States, with a clearly unqualified president and his henchmen seemingly bent on destroying much that makes this country a good place to live, it's a great comfort to watch the creatures we share this space with go about their everyday lives with grace and equanimity.

Blip 1892

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.