A Day to Give Thanks

Dear Diary,

Today is a day that we give thanks for all the blessings in our lives and this morning I am giving thanks for the life of my cousin's daughter, Joslyn.  She died very unexpectedly on Tuesday night; she was just 29 years old.  I had no recent photo of her that I had taken myself so you will forgive me using one of her promo shots but I wanted to share her lovely face.

Joslyn sang at my second wedding back in 1998.  Her voice, at 10, was angelic.  Music would remain a part of her life...it was a gift she gladly shared.  I've included a photo of her on my wedding day.  She sang "Simple Gifts",  a favorite Shaker hymn of mine that I will now always associate with her.  People are gifts in our lives and we often don't take the time to fully appreciate the depth and complexity of that gift.

As you sit down to enjoy your Thanksgiving feast with family and friends, take a moment to give special thanks for all those people in your life.  Reach out and hug them, tell them how special they are, what a blessing they are in your life.  We never know how long we have with each other, please, savor every minute.  Heaven's choir has a beautiful new voice this morning, may she rest in peace...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.