"We gather together..."

Dear Diary,

One of my favorite Thanksgiving hymns begins with that phrase.  Yesterday, my mourning doves decided to act it out around the potting shed as they gathered together in a flock of  more than two dozen to search the ground for seeds.  I haven't seen such a big flock of them for a long while. 

I usually have a pair which I call Molly and Malcom who come up close to the house but I haven't seen them for some time.  This flock was, in a strange way, comforting to me.  Seeing my friends going about their business always reassures me.  Life goes on even when we wish it would just slow down for a moment and let us catch our breath.

I plan to go to the health center in town this morning to get these staples removed; they are causing me some discomfort.  I know it has only been nine days since the surgery, it seems like a month, but I had hoped I would be feeling more like myself by now.  Sigh...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.