Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Dubai Mall

G is quite amazing! She was up and out early in the morning. I'm afraid I needed to catch up on sleep a bit more! :(  I'm putting it down to being mega tired because of an untreated infection, something which will be rectified soon as I headed out later to collect my prescription and the antibiotics written on it.

G came home before 1 and I had the crazy idea to go to Dubai Mall to collect her Swatch watch (remember the story of Topden?) and also get a few others things done whilst there. Well, I couldn't have chosen a worse day to do this. The weekends are busy enough, and it's always a challenge to find parking in the afternoon around lunch time, but today's busyness was on a whole different scale.

I'll spare you the details, but I'll just say that it took us nearly 15 minutes to get to our entry point where we found a young national guiding traffic. He had stopped everyone from entering and seemed to be letting a motorcade out. When it was all finished and he gave the signal, we thought we'd drive into the car park, but NO - he wanted us to continue on our way i.e. off the premises and driving away from the Mall to join major roads designed to quickly lead you away.

You can imagine what I was thinking... G suggested trying again, so after finding an appropriate place to turn off the highway and starting to find my way back to the Mall (this took another 15 minutes), it then took us nearly 30 minutes to find a parking spot! I think I scouted the whole car park area. It soon clicked that the reason for the extra traffic was because the Mall have organised three days of crazy discounts (30-75%) and loads of the outlets are participating. All but the ones that we wanted anything from i.e. !!

Items sourced and purchased we got back for G to have a few minutes to catch her breath before she headed out to Awana! I needed to fill out an online form for a job related to banking. It involved having to upload documents, some of which needed to be scanned. Well. For some reason, the scanner and the laptop have stopped talking to each other. Argh. Technology. I don't know how much time got lost trying to fix the problem, which is still a problem as G came home and other things needed to be done (dinner)!

I have caught up with blips for the last few days! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.