Giving Thanks

It's an unusual holiday for us--no turkey for the first time in memory, and no family at the table. Various obligations and illnesses resulted in just the two of us here at home, and we planned a nice sentimental dinner of old favorites: grilled lamb chops and creamed spinach (the very first dinner Mr S ever cooked for me, and I was suitably impressed). I did, however, make a pumpkin pie, so we aren't totally off the menu.

We had a pleasant day doing some minor yard chores--I'm thankful for having the energy to work after such a long haul with this virus. Discovered that the funky smell in the car was because mice had once again built a nest in the air conditioning filter--I screamed when I pulled it out of the snug little compartment and saw all the mess. Actually I think I said Eek. No mousie in sight, but an impressive pile of leaves and stuffing and droppings; the filter was pretty much gnawed to death. This I think is filter #3, maybe #4, that has succumbed. Apparently this is a common problem but there is no reasonable way to mouse-proof the area. You'd think great minds would have figured it out by now. I'm thankful I have a car that I can complain about, but I am not, god, thankful for the mice and all their mess.

Hey, hug your loved ones and carry on with your wonderful lives. I am grateful to all of you out there, all over the world, for being willing to share yourselves, one photograph at a time.

This view is looking out from the amusement park, across the bay to Monterey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.