Amelia is 3

I can't believe how quickly time has gone.  Three years ago this beautiful child, Amelia, was a few hours old having made a somewhat dramatic entrance into the world.  When my daughter went into labour she intended the baby to be born in the Birthing Unit at High Wycombe Hospital, as sister Sophie had been a few years earlier.  However, after a few hours, HW needed to transfer mother and unborn baby to the maternity unit at Stoke Manderville about 15 miles away. An ambulance was called for the transfer.  But Amelia wouldn't wait to get to the hospital and the ambulance had to pull up in a bus stop a few miles away.  There were two midwives in the ambulance with my daughter so all was well but the baby's anxious father had had to follow in his car and was hammering on the door to be let in!  So Amelia's place of birth is recorded as Princes Risborough - they missed out the 'ambulance in a bus stop' bit!

An interesting tale for Amelia to tell when she is old enough to understand and, even now, for us, it makes a good story.  I do wonder whether one's birth is an indicator of character.  I was born late, the wrong way up and in a hurry - nothing much has changed since!  Amelia was born in a hurry and in a non-regulation place so maybe this will become her tag for life!

Today I went over for a birthday tea as I have booked myself on a two day portrait photography course in London and will miss the party tomorrow - I like to go along and take photographs of the event.

My Nikon D750 arrived back today from its overhaul - it was one of the batch that was affected by a shutter problem and, although I didn't have any problem, I thought I would take advantage of Nikon's offer to replace the shutter free of charge - it also got a thorough clean and check.  I was very happy to get it back although it was away for less than two weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.