Stripy!

I was up early today to get Jae off to work, then it was time to watch the RL World Cup semi final match between England and Tonga. I'm not overly patriotic, and I'm a fan of players in both teams from club competitions, and I genuinely did not mind who won. It was  very close game, after England took a strong lead then Tonga hit back close to the end and came within seconds of pipping them at the post!

Tonga's fans are amazing! They never stop singing - mostly hymns - and they sound like an actual choir, a little like the Welsh Rugby Union fans can at times. They cheer and sing and get behind their team even when things are going badly.

It was a very cold morning, so I wrapped up warmly to go to Metheringham. I've never seen the train so packed - I don't know what was going on today. There were even people standing, which I've never seen before!

All was normal over there, just a bit of housework to do. While I was in the village, I called in to the W.I's table top sale. I got a large pack of craft papers for hobby use, and also had a go on the Tombola. Theirs was a little different as they had wrapped all the prizes so you didn't know what you'd won. I did win one, put it in my bag and forgot about it until I got home. I opened it, and it turned out to be a rather nice watch! It has a metal strap so I wouldn't be able to wear it, and it is a little old fashioned for my tastes. I'll get Bri to see if his Mum would like it!

This flower is part of my Mum's latest bunch. I love its stripiness!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.