The Corn Exchange

in Newbury on a glorious day for the Community Challenge of Architecture (not sure if I should have blipped this one? ;)

A brief history:
The original building opened for trade in 1861 but was soon being used as a community venue.  In the 20th Century as corn trading declined, the venue was used for public meetings, dances.... (more here on the webiste).

I did some other shots, but given it was market day it was complicated trying to get pictures without either stalls or cars, or people in the way...more on Flickr including the mix of new and old at the West Berkshire museum and the so called American Bridge here in Newbury :)

What a beautiful day for a walk in the sunshine and I was so glad I was walking because the M4 is closed and the A4 was solid.  People were driving down our road at above 20mph which is the limit for sure just to avoid the traffic....

 I am going to have to drive in the morning to Church so will be leaving quite early to make sure I get there in time as I'm leading prayers!

In other news, when I was walking back I came across two young lads, one of whom had climbed between the footpath and the bridge edge.  Pleased to say I talked him back over the barrier as I was quite worried he was going to do something silly (jump into the canal?).  Who knows what was going through his mind (his friend was telling him not to as well).  Anyway I don't know if it was right, but I said 'I'm sure you're a sensible lad really' and immediately he started climbing back over and went off chatting to his friend!

Home and I've chatted to my Mum who really isn't that well, but has a break this week in the chemo and is wondering what will happen to her body in that time.  Not having had it I've no idea, but told her to be careful and not do too much as I know what she's like.  She's already been back in hospital with a temperature and being monitored :(

Roast chicken and veg for dinner and I've settled down to Strictly and later Casualty :)

Happy Saturday folks :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.