SecondSeason

By SecondSeason

Thanksmas

This is my family.  My parents in the middle (Dad 83 Mom 82).  I'm the oldest, my brother (far right striped red shirt) is 3 1/2 years younger than I and my sister in the middle behind my Mom is 17 years younger than I am.  The rest of the gang is all our off spring.  (Missing my oldest granddaughter and my nephew.)  

It's been more difficult for my aging parents to have our entire family of 25 over at Christmas so this year my son and daughter in law offered to host a dinner between Thanksgiving and Christmas.  They called it 'Thanksmas.' :) 

My son cooked the turkey, made the stuffing and gravy and the rest of us brought everything to make a most delicious meal.  Everyone brings a wrapped $10 gift and we play a game where we choose a number out of a hat depending on the total amount of people represented.  Number 1 is a good number to have as you not only get to go first, but at the very end of the game you also have the opportunity to choose someone else's gift.  Once your number is called, you may take one of the wrapped gifts or before opening it, may select someone else's opened gift.  More often than not, there's one item that seems to be a desired gift and it exchanges hands numerous times.  All in all, a fun game and one that the kids are all included in as well.

My Mom has been asking for a family photo for quite a while and as we're only together a few times a year I thought I'd bring my camera and tripod today to try and grab a shot.  Not easy trying to corral this bunch and we use whatever means necessary to try and get everyone to join.  I had to use a train decoration from the Christmas tree to bait my grandson Cache into the photo.  

So even though the lighting wasn't great and I had to use a flash which I rarely use and don't really like, I know this meant alot to my Mom.  A precious memory of (most of) her family together.  

The extra is of my 3 kids.  My nearest and dearest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.